Sponsorship? Are you interested in sponsoring LDR? Contact Us!

Race Report: PSCA Heads Up Hootenanny II

The Limited Drag Radial Championship Chase is now past the halfway point in the season with the recent completion of the second annual Heads Up Hootenanny event by the Premier Street Car Association (PSCA) being held at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Illinois. The original April date was forced a reschedule due to weather and it was moved to June 29-July 1 weekend, along with the JEG’S Super Quick Series amongst the toughest NHRA Division 3 competitors. Car count was lower than we all hoped for, but, holiday weekends are always tough due to family vacations and more. Eight competitive hot rods were on the grounds for Limited Drag Radial and all eight were competitive entries and each could end up in the winner’s circle by event end.

Shane Stack from Huntsville, Alabama led the way in qualifying with a 4.228 second blast at 179.47 miles per hour with his twin turbocharged 1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo in the tough summer heat and humidity. Jack Greene (4.241) and Michael Hupp (4.254) rounded out the top three in qualifying standings rolling into eliminations. Matt Bell, Jason Rueckert, Michael Hupp and Shane Stack moved on past the ever tough first round with a few tough races and a big wheelstand out of Anthony Manna alongside Hupp in the opening round of eliminations. In the semi-finals, Jason Rueckert figured out his issues and roped off a 4.211 at 181 miles per hour in a side by side matchup with Michael Hupp’s 4.256 at 183 miles per hour, advancing the Indiana based Cutlass to the final round. Shane Stack continued his streak of consistency with a 4.203 at 183 miles per hour shot to defeat Matt Bell who had to pedal out of a small wheelstand and slowed to a 4.44. Stack, running low elapsed time of the weekend so far, took lane choice into the finals against Rueckert in a twin turbocharged g-body matchup. With a highly touted final round rolling under the tower, both teams were loaded for bear to claim the $4,000 payday and the bragging rights of winning the swing event at the LDR Championship Tour. Stack and Rueckert left the line with only one-thousandth of a second separating the two but Rueckert lost traction and the ‘Alabama Thrillbilly’ streaked off to low elapsed time of the event, saving the best for last, running a 4.190 @ 183.22 miles per hour to claim the event win at the PSCA Heads Up Hootenanny II at Gateway Motorsports Park.

Mike Hupp’s kids definitely won the night on Friday evening with their patriotic suits as they lined up their father to another low four second blast down the eighth-mile.

Points standings will be updated this week, as well. Next points event will be back at Gateway Motorsports Park for the second PSCA event of the year, Street Car Super Nationals: Anarchy At The Arch on August 3-5th in Madison, Illinois.

Final Qualifying Standings
1. Shane Stack – 4.228 @ 179.47
2. Jack Greene – 4.241 @ 174.32
3. Michael Hupp – 4.254 @ 183.39
4. Justin Martin – 4.368 @ 177.81
5. Matt Bell – 4.477 @ 139.59
6. Anthony Manna – 4.560 @ 172.36
7. Jason Rueckert – 4.689 @ 173.99
8. Kris Fewell – 5.078 @ 143.96

Complete Elimination Results
Round 1
Matt Bell (4.230) defeated Justin Martin (4.344 @ 175.64)
Jason Rueckert (7.290 @ 109.28) defeated Jack Greene (22.594 @ 22.25)
Michael Hupp (4.304 @ 181.25) defeated Anthony Manna (4.787 @ 132.90)
Shane Stack (4.277 @ 181.76) defeated Kris Fewell (5.066 @ 141.76)

Round 2
Jason Rueckert (4.211 @ 181.74) defeated Michael Hupp (4.256 @ 183.89)
Shane Stack (4.203 @ 183.07) defeated Matt Bell (4.445 @ 172.08)

Final Round
Shane Stack (.044 – 4.190 @ 183.22) defeated Jason Rueckert (.045 – 6.944 @ 81.98)

Other Winners
Midwest Pro Modified Series – Jason Hamstra over Keith Haney
Radial vs. The World – Brandon Pesz over Mark Woodruff
X275 Drag Radial – Phil Hines over Cecil Whitaker
MX235 – Brian Edwards over Jason Collins
JEG’S Super Quick – Mike Eggleston over George Atchison

Photo Credit: Drag Illustrated

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *